Two poems: beyond the marow / The Contents

Back on the poetry front, I’m trying to play a bit of catch up, and I liked the prompts for April 15th and 16th that Poets and Writers list:
April 15
Choose a favorite line from one of your poems and write a new poem using that line as the first one.

beyond the marrow

beyond the marrow, the core of bones—

there is realization: that with us

it was as if I was trying to light incense

from a lit cigarette, to create a flame

where none could ever exist,

and even if you burned for me

(a little), you’d always eventually

burn down to a fractional thing of

yourself, not nearly enough to love.

April 16
Flip through the dictionary (I did this with the first book I found, The Shell Collector, by Anthony Doerr) randomly and choose ten words. Write a poem with each word in every other line. (The words I found were: index, hypnotic, cocoon, droplets, knuckles, bramble, voluptuous, belt, dozen, clot.)

The Contents

Little girl, walking through your tiny town,

walking to the library, to go through the card index,

to find somewhere to escape, from the shouts,

from the hypnotic battle between grown ups.

Cocoon yourself in someone else’s life,

live within the story of the story, never-ending.

Book in hand, droplets on your glasses, here comes

your pup, she wandered but came running to walk you home.

Your knuckles get whiter as you grip the binding,

bound to be cold and frightened of what you’ll find,

and brambles catch you as you shamble on uneven walks,

homeward bound, those few enormous blocks.

And in the door, the greeting is voluptuous,

What did you get? something good to read? I love you

dear sweet girl of mine, I love that you love to read.

They’re belting out praises for your qualities, in joyous moods.

You can’t possibly understand the contents of bottles,

which come in dozens and get scattered, like dandelion seeds.

They shower you like raindrops, in hugs and kisses,

a sudden aneurysm, a clot of love, barreling down upon you

and by the library, a train hollers as it passes by.

 

 

I especially love this prompt, because it reminds me of a scene in Before Sunrise, when a street poet approaches the couple walking in Vienna:

So, I would like to make a deal with you. I mean, instead of just asking you for money, I will ask you for a word. Yeah, you give me a word, I take the word, and then, and then I will write a poem, with the word inside. And if you like it, I mean, if you like my poem, and you feel it adds something to your life in any way, then you can pay me whatever you feel like.

We all want to add something to someone’s life, don’t we?

3 Responses to “Two poems: beyond the marow / The Contents”

  1. dulzimordash Says:

    Reblogged this on Nature’s Abhorred Vacuum.

  2. expandingouroborous Says:

    I really like the second poem – I think the last six lines do superb job expressing the situation.

Leave a Reply

