Embarking on Camp NaNoWriMo 2013

In July, I’m going to be working on another month-long writing program, NaNoWriMo’s writing camp, which bills itself as “an idyllic writer’s retreat smack-dab in the middle of your crazy life.” To be honest, life hasn’t been any much crazier than usual. Just warmer, and with more power outtages.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) was created with the purpose of folks writing novels of 50,000 words or more, in a month. I’ve participated in the November program for a number of years, winning only once–2011. This year, I’m rebelling.

My plan is to write 50,000 words (although, the wordcount goal is flexible at Camp–and you can change it up through July 25, when “validation” begins), but not of a novel.

Instead, I’m planning to clean house. To sweep away the detritus of my mind’s rooms, focusing on short stories, poems, and script ideas. Ideally, at least one story will stand out, and lead to a better plan for November, when I’ll work on a novel again.

I’m also considering trying some children’s literature, for which I may also sketch out illustration ideas.

So, I’m using Camp as a clearinghouse. Some of the work will indubitably be posted here. I’m also gratified to have found a group of likeminded folks working on a wide variety of projects, all of whom are interested in critique and future publication.

For one week in July, I’ll also be at a real-life camp, living in a tent and writing in between sessions of gorging myself on Danish food, dancing, and singing my lungs out. Thankfully, there’s also internet access. 🙂

This is gonna be fun. If you’d like to join me, visit http://www.campnanowrimo.org/.

4 Responses to “Embarking on Camp NaNoWriMo 2013”

  1. Children’s literature sounds fun and adventurous! I wish you all the best with your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

