Chicken

What are you, chicken?

Afraid to cross the barrier

between here and there,

a vast space of bars separates

you from me.

 

What am I, chicken?

Cluck-cluck, and tell me,

I’m dying to know, am I

her or him, you or me?

Will you and I ever be we?

 

I’m playing, chicken.

I’m crossing the barrier

between her and him,

and toying with you,

but neither of us win.

 

We’re playing chicken,

but you don’t know it yet.

And when you fall, when you fail,

and I know you will,

Just. Please don’t cry.

Leave a Reply

