(You aren’t) The Only One

I won’t lie, not to your face: never
my sweetheart. But you aren’t the only
one I could ever love, or ever leave;
my dearheart, you aren’t the only one
I could ever call sweet or dear, you aren’t
the only one I could ever call after dark.

I won’t lie with you anymore, dearface,
heartbreak; you aren’t the only one I
could ever wake up next to. Not one more
morning. You aren’t the only one I could
stand brushing my teeth beside, or ask
to hold the ladder while I replace bulbs.

I can’t ever again see my face by yours:
never, my sugar-skull. The only one I see
is mine, staring gauntly at me. I’m the only
one in bed, and the only one getting spit
on the mirror now. I can’t blame you for the
burnt-out light. I’m the only one here.

Leave a Reply

